Work Experience

Now I have finished my A levels I have been thinking a lot about project trust meaning I now I have lots of activities on the go. But this week has been a bit different, instead of focusing on the fundraising side of it, I have been trying to gain practice and experience in teaching – seeing as that is what I will be doing for a year of my life

This has involved me going back to my old primary school for the past week. And once I got over the initial shock of calling my old teachers by their first name and hearing new kids singing the old songs I used to, it was an amazing week.

I spent most of it working in the reception class (for those of you who don’t know that’s kids aged 4-5). One thing that amazed me, was the difference in abilities, from kids who can hardly write their own name to those who choose to do 2 pages of homework just to show their teacher they can. This has meant that I have learnt some tactics to help with the range of abilities I am likely to find in India.

I have also learnt a bit about basic phonics and was shown a game that I would like to try out. And some really simple things about counting activities which was just naming a number that is less than another one, whilst this may sound simple, it’s not if you are 4!

I had an interesting experience of trying to teach maths to a reception student who’s second language is English and has learning difficulties. This was very changing for both of us not just with the language barrier (which I imagine I will be having all of next year), but finding ways to communicate was something I had not come across before. Though it was a great learning experience for me about what number bonds are and how to explain how to add up to 10!

As you can see from some of the photos, the reception has lodes of resources that the kids can use and play with, this is a luxury that I probably won’t have in India. This has been worrying me a bit so I am going to have to learn some games that don’t need much to entertain them before I go

The reception class whilst being a handful – though I have been told its just because we are near the end of term (I’m no so sure), have been amazing. Even though I have only been with them a week, they have made my week so special and made me feel at home. And they will definitely be missed.

I also got the opportunity to see some of the year 6 work books, meaning i have now seen the full range of ability from the level you start with to the level you leave primary school. This has been really beneficial and made me want to dig out some of my old books to see what I was up to.

Overall it was a really good week and I’m so glad I did it and I would highly suggest anyone wanting to do anything with teaching should try and spend a week in a primary school 🙂

 

About hannahsyearinindia

Hello! My name is Hannah Chambers, and in 2016 I was selected by the charity Project Trust to take part in a 12 month overseas placement in India this is an incredible opportunity to be able to go for so long and therefore be able to fully immerse myself in the culture. This means that in August 2017 I will be flying to India as a Project Trust volunteer! On this website I hope to keep you updated throughout my journey in getting there, from fundraising and training to actually being out there! Have a read and hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Pre-India. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Work Experience

  1. Nell Semel says:

    Hi Hannah, Sarah Bingham forwarded your blog to me…fyi
    I was born and grew up in India – many years ago. As I look back fondly to my early years — remembering the fun I had playing games with my Indian friends. This brings me to suggest that you too will enjoy learning about the games your Indian students play. There was also a group dance girls used to do – clicking sticks with each other as they wove in and out of circles. I’m sure your students will love teaching you about their favorite past times. Good luck in your months ahead.
    I look forward to following your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

