Training week

So last week I made the trek back up to Coll, just like I had to do almost a year ago, although this time I did not have a travel buddy and almost missed my flight, but I made it none-the-less! Before getting to backpackers so many thoughts we rushing through my head, what if I’m a terrible teacher, what if my project partner doesn’t like me. But it turns out I didn’t need to worry and I had an amazing week.

The week has made me so much more confident about my year away, not just the teaching aspect, about how to fit in with the community, how lovely my partner is and how I know it will be amazing even though it will be riddled with ups and downs and that’s okay.

I also got to meet some amazing people, I met half of my country group which couldn’t be nicer and spent the week with other country groups – Sri Lanka, Senegal, Japan and Thailand. All of them amazing people I’m really excited to spend the next year with 🙂

It’s incredible what can change in a week and how teaching two lessons has made me so much more confident in what I will be doing. We had talks on classroom management something that had been worrying me as in India corporal punishment is not uncommon but we learn other ways to manage the class in a more positive way. We also learnt the basics of teaching have helped me so much, which I really owe to the Project Trust staff. And in an amazing lesson completely in Thai where we learnt how to chant pineapple – Sapparot!! I also managed to win the proud title of ‘Geek of the week’ for my knowledge of insurance 

I also found out the date I will be leaving! 8th of September – only six weeks to go 😀 This is definitely not the easiest journey and I have always known this but training has reinforced to me just how important and incredible it is going to be. I can’t wait for the next year of my life.

I also just wanted to thank all of the Project staff who helped (especially Rosie), as well as the amazing summer staff who helped to keep us laughing all week.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About hannahsyearinindia

Hello! My name is Hannah Chambers, and in 2016 I was selected by the charity Project Trust to take part in a 12 month overseas placement in India this is an incredible opportunity to be able to go for so long and therefore be able to fully immerse myself in the culture. This means that in August 2017 I will be flying to India as a Project Trust volunteer! On this website I hope to keep you updated throughout my journey in getting there, from fundraising and training to actually being out there! Have a read and hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Pre-India. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

